#50 Infobesity? What’s that?

Today, I learnt a new word.

Information overload (also known as infobesity or infoxication) is a term used to describe the difficulty of understanding an issue and effectively making decisions when one has too much information about that issu.png

We are all time-starved and info overloaded. “Infobesity” is a thing of the present. The term describes one with information overload and also describes the difficulty of understanding an issue and effectively making decisions when one has too much information about that issue.

With the explosion of internet, everything that we need to know is now loaded right under our thumb and we practically can’t live without it. A push of the machine called the mobile phone with ultra powerful connection called the internet, it leads us to the gallery of enlightenment.  Cut the internet and we literally become “dumb” again.

How am I gonna tell a 3 year old kid the science behind the universe or how animations were made? That would totally diminished their joy of asking and getting answers from the apparently intelligent human being. I became dumb without my mobile phone, I cannot navigate my directions without my Google Map and there goes my training as a girl guide, my badges earned from surviving multiple night trail walks in the dark- crying, tripping and falling, all in the name of learning to use the ancient compass to learn a new skill- SURVIVAL.

Becoming infobesity is a luxury and yet the downfall, the ability to know information fast, momentarily forgeting about it with the thought at the back of my head that I can seek answers online when I need it. My brain has failed me, it’s losing its power to remember better and longer like it used to; the convenience of forgetting and efficiency to recall that memory through Google, a luxury irony of managing knowledge.

Oh dear!

Reference:

http://www.bain.com/publications/articles/infobesity-the-enemy-of-good-decisions.aspx

https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/the-infobesity-epidemic-how-to-deal-with-information_us_59712ba4e4b0545a5c30fece

https://www.cnbc.com/video/2014/07/30/are-you-suffering-from-infobesity.html

 

Leave a comment