#32. When you hear your own voice

I was “spring cleaning” my iPhone and replayed a video that I took recently of someone doing bungee jump. Listening to my own narration of what was happening by the second, it reminded me again how funny I sounded on video. Was that my actual voice? Oh gosh, high pitch and squeaky, no wonder my friends called me a witch when I was a kid.

Try recording your own voice on the voice memo and replay it again. What you thought you sounded like is pretty much different from the voice memo playback! So again, why do we sound different when we hear ourselves on video?

According to Greg Foot in a BBC video, it’s because when we speak we hear our own voice in 2 different ways. The first would be through the vibrating sound waves that hits the ear drum, the way other people hears our voice. And the second way is through vibrations inside our skull set off by our vocal chords. The vibrations actually travel through our skull which causes the ear drum to vibrate again. Meanwhile, change takes place when they travel through the bone and as they spread and lower its pitch, giving a false sense of bass. So that’s when you hear the recording of the voice and somehow it sounds distinctly higher.

So if you would like to know if you have a superb singing voice, try my tactic- record your own singing and playback.

For me, it’s back to singing in the showers!

Leave a comment